Travel Advice for the UK

Travel Advice for the UK

Here we explain the different documents neccesary to travel to Edinburgh, depending on the nationality of the traveller.

Scotland has been part of the United Kingdom since the eighteenth century; therefore, to visit Edinburgh or any other part of Scotland has the same requirements needed to enter any of the countries that make up the UK.

US Citizens

American citizens travelling to Scotland, England, Wales or Northern Ireland do not require a visa, but will need a valid passport. Before you land in the UK, you will be asked to fill out a landing card with your name, date of birth, gender, nationality, occupation and the address where you will be staying in London.

Canadian Citizens

Canadians have to present a valid passport to enter the United Kingdom. A visa is not required for stays of six months or less.

Australian Citizens

If you are travelling as a tourist for up to six months, you do not require a visa. However, you will need to show a valid passport.

EU, EEA and Swiss Citizens

Citizens from Switzerland, the EU and the EEA will not require a visa to enter Scotland.

Citizens of counties that do not need a visa

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa for visits of up to six months to Scotland and the rest of the UK, but you will need a valid passport.  

Anguilla, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominica, East Timor, El Salvador, Falkland Islands, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Montserrat, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, Solomon Islands, Saint Lucia, Saint Helena, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Tuvalu, Turks, and Caicos Islands, Uruguay, United States, Vanuatu.

Citizens of countries that need a visa

Citizens from China, Jamaica, India and South Africa will need a visa to travel to the UK. We recommend going to the British Embassy of your country for more information. 

Visiting Scotland after Brexit

All current rights to circulation are valid throughout 2020. European citizens only need a passport or official I.D. to travel to Edinburgh throughout 2020, the transition period, and no visa will be required until at least 2021.

More information

For more information, visit the official travelling website to the United Kingdom.